Australian National University


Public University

World ranking



Total: 25000

International: 31%


Undergraduate: N/A

Postgraduate: N/A

Review rating

not yet

Australian National University was founded in 1946 by the Parliament of Australia, and it was based on Canberra University College. Today, the University is Australia's national university with a unique history, research, and scholarship contributions to advancing its future. The university is in the capital city, Canberra. It is ranked as number 59th in the world by the World University Rankings (2021). ANU is the world-leading university with more Nobel Laureates among staff and alumni than other Australian universities.

Australian National University operates seven academic colleges that deliver several schools and research centers: ANU College of Arts & Social Sciences; ANU College of Asia & the Pacific; ANU College of Business & Economics; ANU College of Engineering & Computer Science; ANU College of Health & Medicine; ANU College of Law; ANU College of Science and other areas. 

Campuses & facilities

Australian National University provides a few campuses and facilities, such as Acton campus (Canberra), Kioloa Coastal Campus (New South Wales), Mount Stromlo Observatory (18km southwest of Canberra city), North Australia Research Unit campus (the Northern Territory), and Siding Spring Observatory (on Mount Woorut). Each campus delivers cutting-edge research, teaching, and equipment for students.

Acton campus

The campus is located in the heart of Canberra with well renowned landscape. It is easy to drive to some of Australia's crucial political and cultural institutions. This area is surrounded by modern lecture halls, libraries, laboratories, student residences, and administrative buildings. There are cafes, bars, supermarkets, child care centers, a news agency, a post office, and a medical center for students' comfort and qualitative lifestyle.

Kioloa Coastal campus

Murramarang Nation Park and the beaches of southern New South Wales surround the most beautiful Kioloa Coastal Campus (348 hectares). This is a great place to learn, teach, write and conduct research in an excellent environment. The campus offers ideal spaces for meetings, workshops, seminars, and conferences. Besides, it is a good chance to be involved in nature while studying process. Accommodation on the Kioloa campus includes several cottages and two buildings.

Mount Stromlo Observatory

Mount Stromlo Observatory spans 81 hectares area, including The ANU Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics' home. There are an administrative center, astronomers and students' offices, and the computing laboratories.

North Australia Research Unit campus

The campus is about 15km from Darwin city in the Northern Territory with accommodation and other facilities. It has been operating since 1973 to provide research and logistic support in north Australia. This place consists of accommodation, office space, field equipment, and a seminar room.

Siding Spring Observatory

This is the foremost optical and infrared observatory in Australia, and the campus is the most significant site for astronomy, astrophysics, and space science in Australia. University's pride is a large number of super modern and unique telescopes, including the Anglo Australian Telescope. The site sits at the summit of Mt Woorut, NSW, and is set within the stunning National Heritage Listed Warrumbungle National Park, around 30 kilometers from Coonabarabran.

Make an inquiry about this institution